Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post questions and find answers on the latest SpectraLayers release here.
Post Reply
LeprechaunStu
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:20 am
Contact:

Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by LeprechaunStu »

I am running a very stable and highly functional studio system.
Using Cubase 10.5 Pro, with an intel 8-core Xenon 8700 Win7 Pro, SP1 machine.
Also utilize SL Pro6 for studio projects with very good results.

I wanted the upgraded functionality of SL Pro7, so purchased it yesterday.
The website says it needs 64B and Win10 OS. I am running 64B, but Win7 Pro.
So, I thought that maybe I could get functionality, since I'm at 64B OS.

The SL Pro7 successfully loaded, launches OK, then shows the basic SL Pro7 home screen, but if you import or load a file for processing,
it gracefully shuts down. Windows dialog box shows Appcrash.

Any way I can get SL Pro7 to run on the Win7 Pro, SP1 machine?
I have very stable and consistent performance with the Win7 Pro OS, and
a changeover to Win10 would be very laborous.

Thx - Steinberg is the Best!
Very grateful for any help on this.
- LeprechaunStu

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by Robin Lobel »

No guarantee here, but let's see what caused the crash and if it can easily be fixed.
Can you send me the crash dump located in Documents\Steinberg\Crash Dumps
and the logs file located in %appdata%\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7.0\logs ?

You can send it to contact(at)divideframe.com or in PM.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

trance2020
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:20 am
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by trance2020 »

You have to make sure your graphics card supports opengl 3.3 if it doesn't spectralayers will crash when you open a file or create new project.

rataro
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by rataro »

Hi,
I purchased SL Pro 7 and encountered same problem in Windows 7 x64.
SL Pro 7 can startup. But when do "New Project" or "Open", suddenly it crashes.

My NVIDIA graphics card supports OpenGL up to 4.6.
SL Pro is 7.0.20 Build 249.

Can I resolve this issue?

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by Robin Lobel »

Can you send me the crash dump located in Documents\Steinberg\Crash Dumps
and the logs file located in %appdata%\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7.0\logs ?

You can send it to contact(at)divideframe.com or in PM.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

LMNproyect
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by LMNproyect »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Oct 06, 2020 1:37 pm
Can you send me the crash dump located in Documents\Steinberg\Crash Dumps
and the logs file located in %appdata%\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7.0\logs ?

You can send it to contact(at)divideframe.com or in PM.
hi, i have the same issue with spectralayers 7 pro with my windows 7 x64 , it chashes everytime i try to start a new proyect
is there any fix for this?

User avatar
Nspace
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by Nspace »

LMNproyect wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:31 pm
Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Oct 06, 2020 1:37 pm
Can you send me the crash dump located in Documents\Steinberg\Crash Dumps
and the logs file located in %appdata%\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7.0\logs ?

You can send it to contact(at)divideframe.com or in PM.
hi, i have the same issue with spectralayers 7 pro with my windows 7 x64 , it chashes everytime i try to start a new proyect
is there any fix for this?
I am running Windows 7 x64 PRO with Spectralayers 7.0.20.
Tested most functionality Ok.

What you need to check are the GPU detailed specifications, and according to my own experience with AMD GPU cards, these are highly dependent on their adequate driver/registry installation.
This program relies in detailed video info and processing.

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectralayers Pro7 -- Get compatibility with Win7 Pro?

Post by Robin Lobel »

LMNproyect, please forward me the logs as described in my previous message.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

Post Reply

Return to “SpectraLayers 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robin Lobel and 1 guest