Groove Agent 101?

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
stacey7890
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Groove Agent 101?

Post by stacey7890 »

Hello All, I'm using Cubase 8 elements (been using Cubase ai before that for only 2 months).
I'm very new to recording but I've been able to get beautiful results with my guitars and vocals.
However, the drum agent has me stumped. I've read the manual and tried using it but I cannot even grasp how to record a track using the instrument pads.
Does anyone know where to find entry level resources for this software?

User avatar
Svengali
Senior Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:26 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 101?

Post by Svengali »

of course on youtube!

Maybe this one?

https://youtu.be/7FD7oH6t56s
Setup: Cubase Pro 10 on HP Z 620 /Cubase Elements 9.0.3 on Microsoft Surface Tablet, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Native Instruments Komplete 10, UAD-2, Plugin-Alliance, Waves, Fabfilter, Toontrack, CC121, UR12, UAD Apollo

stacey7890
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 101?

Post by stacey7890 »

Svengali wrote:of course on youtube!

Maybe this one?

https://youtu.be/7FD7oH6t56s
Hey Svengali, thanks for trying to help the lost cause that is me. I've watched this video and others like it. I just don't get it - like they're speaking another language.
Basically, I create an instrument track for the agent, press record, drum away on the pads and nothing records.

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 101?

Post by No1DaBeats »

So you want to play the drums yourself or use the patterns / xy-control?
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

stacey7890
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 101?

Post by stacey7890 »

No1DaBeats wrote:So you want to play the drums yourself or use the patterns / xy-control?
The patterns don't make any sense so I was thinking of doing it myself.

I think I figured out the issue. In the inspector panel, after creating a Groove Agent track and selecting the Edit instrument function, one must still select groove agent as the midi input. Who knew? So now I can input my drums.

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests