Akai MPD18 & C8 Pro

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
thenowhereman
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Contact:

Akai MPD18 & C8 Pro

Post by thenowhereman »

Has anyone had experience with the Akai MPD18 as a controller for GA4? I purchased one yesterday, have it setup in the devices menu as a generic controller. The midi messages are being received as indicated on the transport bar. I can get it to trigger BFD2 within Cubase but not GA4. Also if I drag a GA4 pattern to a GA track there is no audio playback if the Akai is on, yet i can drag the same pattern down to a midi track set to BFD2 and it plays fine. I can also record on the track with the pads triggering BFD2.

I don't want a bunch of bells and whistles with this controller, just a simple velocity sensitive pad trigger for creating drum patterns for those clients that don't want a live drummer or have the additional funds for hiring a live drummer. I know there is mapping involved and this is something I am not that familiar with. Akai has an XML file for their MPD32, but none for the MPD18.

Thanks in advance

thenowhereman
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Contact:

Re: Akai MPD18 & C8 Pro

Post by thenowhereman »

No one have any suggestions? Is anyone using a pad controller that works with GA4?

User avatar
VinnieD
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: Akai MPD18 & C8 Pro

Post by VinnieD »

Did you check if the pad assignments are identical to the GA4 pad assignments? I sometimes use the pads on my novation controller, or my Alesis drumpads, and I always need to set up the pad numbers manually.

Good luck!
Cubase Pro 11 - HALion 6/ HALionsonic 3 - NeoSoul Keys - Absolute VST+ - Kick2 - Groove Agent 5 - Korg Legacy M1 - Komplete Ult 12 - Sylenth1 - BlueII - SubBoomBass2 - TAL-U-NO-LX - Cable Guys bundle - Diva
Win 10 (64b) - 32GB RAM - i7 6 core - NVidia Geforce GTX1050
Focusrite Scarlet 18/8 Mk3 - Yamaha H8 - Komplete Kontrol S88 - Machine Mk3 - Korg MS20 (Full Size Kit) - Behringer TB-03
iPad Air 2 - Cubasis 2 - Cubase IC Pro - Nanologue

thenowhereman
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Contact:

Re: Akai MPD18 & C8 Pro

Post by thenowhereman »

VinnieD wrote:Did you check if the pad assignments are identical to the GA4 pad assignments? I sometimes use the pads on my novation controller, or my Alesis drumpads, and I always need to set up the pad numbers manually.

Good luck!
I have tried everything to no avail, I have reset the pad assignments to GA4, nothing. It will work with GA4 as a stand alone but not inside C* Pro,even though the midi indicator on GA4 flashes as the pads are struck, but no sound. Think it is time to send it back, I ahev wasted too much time with it as it is

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest