Retiring Groove Agent at last

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Retiring Groove Agent at last

Post by J L Bowie »

Been using it since version 1, and it was pretty solid for the most part, but it is finally time to put her to rest. Finally got around to buying Jamstix yesterday, and after a learning curve of about two hours, I cannot believe I didn't try it long before now. 3.5 is 64bit, works a treat in Nuendo 5.5 and Cubase 6.5, and is so much more intuitive to use in every way. Arranging and adjusting drum and percussion tracks couldn't be easier or more realistic. GIve up on GA 4, it ain't gonna happen.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10.3/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1909, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -18 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1909/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 16, WaveLab Pro 10/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Retiring Groove Agent at last

Post by hotchickenbone »

Groove agent 3 is still the *flower*! because of its simplicity, sample replacement, and ofcourse, midi output. Plus i like to stick with steinberg on steinberg products. very pleased!
Cubase 10.5 Pro,WaveLab Elements 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1610
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Retiring Groove Agent at last

Post by mr.roos »

JL, hi. I am not much of a virtual player but I have just started figuring out GA. I am actually glad to see your post because I don't find GA very intuitive. I just looked at Jamstyx and it seems like a good option, thanks for pointing that out.

But can I ask you two questions? First one about GA. I watched a video where a guy takes a short vocal track, maybe two bars. He edits it in the Cubase edit window, creating a number of hits on the track. Next he closes the editor, lights up GA on a track and on the project screen and drags the entire track onto pad #1 on GA. What happens is that all the individual hits are now spread out on all the pads. I cannot do this, try as I might. What am I missing?

The second question involves the virtual drummer from Ozone. To me it looks very intuitive, but I wonder if you've looked at it, and, if so, would you still recommend Jamstyx instead of it?

Thanks.
Cubase 10.5 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (2004 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, StudioLogic Numa Compact 2X 88-Key, and Roland FP-30.

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1610
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Retiring Groove Agent at last

Post by mr.roos »

OK, I see this is kind of a dead forum.... Sad. So, Footnote:The jamstyx looks good but unfortunately the trial download is not 64bit so it looks like it will be a while before I can try it in my PC environment.
Cubase 10.5 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (2004 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, StudioLogic Numa Compact 2X 88-Key, and Roland FP-30.

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest