sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post questions and find answers on the latest SpectraLayers release here.
Post Reply
lovegames
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by lovegames »

want to try SL7, but do I have to uninstall SL6?

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Robin Lobel »

You don't have to, the two standalone apps can coexist with no problems.
Note that the ARA plugin will be assigned to SL7 though. To reassign it to SL6, simply reinstall SL6.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2013
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Puma0382 »

Reading with interest - and sorry if I'm hi-jacking a little, but a question for Robin:-

will the 30-day Pro Trial download be updated to the v7.0.20(?) upcoming patch..? Can you give any news on the timing of its release please..?

Thanks,

Bob
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Robin Lobel »

7.0.20 should be released this month or early next month (probably in the next 10 days). I won't risk mentioning any exact date though, as it's dependent on the validation/publishing pipeline ;)
Yes, all the installer files will be updated accordingly. You'll also get a notification when you launch SL 7.0.10 when 7.0.20 is available.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

lovegames
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by lovegames »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:10 pm
You don't have to, the two standalone apps can coexist with no problems.
Note that the ARA plugin will be assigned to SL7 though. To reassign it to SL6, simply reinstall SL6.
sorry just to clarify - there is no uninstalling involved for ARA2 to work? ie, if I install SL7 demo it will install the SL7 standalone alongside SL6 standalone, but in regards to ARA2, SL7 will over take SL6...and if I want to revert... I just reinstall SL6 which will overtake SL7 demo ARA2? no uninstalls?

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Robin Lobel »

Yes if you want to keep the two versions side by side no need to uninstall. Just make sure the last you install is the one you want for ARA.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2013
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Puma0382 »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:40 pm
Yes if you want to keep the two versions side by side no need to uninstall. Just make sure the last you install is the one you want for ARA.
Thanks for your patience so far... ;)

Sorry, but a final bit of head-scratching:- say I have Elements 7 on-board. I then decide to install the Pro Trial, to check it over. Now, does it replace my Elements license on the dongle..? If so, at the end of the Trial, what happens.? Do a uninstall/re-install routine, etc, etc..?

What about Cubase projects I worked in that relied on the Pro Trial edition (via ARA Extension)..? Will these continue to load ok if I've removed the Trial (and re-installed Elements) ..? I can understand if the projects aren't going to be fully compatible, but then I should just make sure I render out all clips that I demoed the Pro Trial with, before it expires..?

Thanks,
Bob
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Robin Lobel »

There's only one SpectraLayers 7 installer for both editions (Pro/Elements). So no need to uninstall/reinstall, it only depends on what licenses are active on your dongle.
If you have purchased an Elements license, and you add a Pro trial to your dongle, as long as the Pro trial is valid (so during 30 days) SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Pro". Once your Pro trial is no longer valid, SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Elements" again.

No worries if you worked with a Pro license and are back to an Element license, your projects will still be compatible (both in standalone mode and ARA mode).
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2661
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by MrSoundman »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:40 pm
Just make sure the last you install is the one you want for ARA.
This is important ... I upgraded from SL6 to SL7, keeping both installed until I had confidence that I didn't need SL6 anymore. SL7 was available in Cubase via ARA2. When I eventually uninstalled SL6, I noticed that I no longer had any SL via ARA. The solution was to just reinstall SL7!
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2013
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Puma0382 »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:35 pm
There's only one SpectraLayers 7 installer for both editions (Pro/Elements). So no need to uninstall/reinstall, it only depends on what licenses are active on your dongle.
If you have purchased an Elements license, and you add a Pro trial to your dongle, as long as the Pro trial is valid (so during 30 days) SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Pro". Once your Pro trial is no longer valid, SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Elements" again.

No worries if you worked with a Pro license and are back to an Element license, your projects will still be compatible (both in standalone mode and ARA mode).
Ok, great - all clear now Robin, thanks. Seems I was over-thinking it a bit... ;) So glad to read that project compatibility holds good between editions too.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

lovegames
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by lovegames »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:35 pm
There's only one SpectraLayers 7 installer for both editions (Pro/Elements). So no need to uninstall/reinstall, it only depends on what licenses are active on your dongle.
If you have purchased an Elements license, and you add a Pro trial to your dongle, as long as the Pro trial is valid (so during 30 days) SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Pro". Once your Pro trial is no longer valid, SpectraLayers 7 will launch as "Elements" again.

No worries if you worked with a Pro license and are back to an Element license, your projects will still be compatible (both in standalone mode and ARA mode).
will key commands transfer automatically?

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by Robin Lobel »

Yes, you'll keep all your settings.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

lovegames
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: sorry if this is posted already - can SL7 trial be installed while keeping SL6?

Post by lovegames »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:36 pm
Yes, you'll keep all your settings.
Thank you! talk about quick responses

Post Reply

Return to “SpectraLayers 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest