SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post questions and find answers on the latest SpectraLayers release here.
Post Reply
tkunm
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 12:16 pm
Contact:

SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post by tkunm »

I'm able to open SpectraLayers 7 from Wavelab pro 10 as editor, but no way to find get playback audio signal from SL through WL.
I imagine, SpectraLayers Bridge on Preference>Device must be something to deal with, but i have no idea how to receive it on WL.
for example, izotope RX has a vst plugin to monitor "RX7 monitor", should SL have something similar ?
i may be missing something ... it would be great if anyone could help me. thank you in advance !!

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post by Robin Lobel »

The SpectraLayers Bridge is only for Pro Tools, which completely takes control of the audio device on some configurations.
Make sure your ASIO device in WaveLab does not use some kind of exclusive mode, so that 2 applications can use it at the same time.
Are you able to play sound in SpectraLayers stand alone ? Did you set it to ASIO or WASAPI ? What audio device do you have ?
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

User avatar
Poinzy
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post by Poinzy »

I use Spectralayer Elements 7 as a secondary editor in Reaper. Reaper uses ASIO, and Spectralayers Elements 7 uses WASAPI. I have no problem getting playback in either Reaper or SLE.
Last edited by Poinzy on Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lover of fine things so long as I can get them cheap.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post by MrSoundman »

Here too, I've WaveLab 10 using ASIO and SpectraLayer Pro 7 using WASAPI, works flawlessly. Playback from SL doesn't go back "through" WL but doesn't need to, as I only need to monitor what I do in SL, and when I'm finished the edit is picked up in WL.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

tkunm
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 12:16 pm
Contact:

Re: SL as external editor in Wavelab

Post by tkunm »

thank you so much for responses ! your words help me a lot.
i've tried to play SL signal through WL... but yes, SL works as standalone, and no problem to use WASAPI.
I didn't realize Bridge is only for PT.

Post Reply

Return to “SpectraLayers 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Poinzy and 2 guests