SpectraLayers 7 - basically unusable (although fixed in next patch due soon)

Post questions and find answers on the latest SpectraLayers release here.
dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 10:14 am
Please let me know if d3dcompiler_47.dll helps. And if it doesn't, if OpenGL mode helps. Only those two tests will allow me to know for sure.
well now it randomly stops producing the error without d3dcompiler_47.dll - ZERO other changes on the system...just by restarting cubase.

We've seen this before of course, with SL6. Working fine then randomly gives a white screen.

I assume that the missing files were already loaded into memory when the error fixes itself ? Or that SL is initialising openGL properly - therefore it's very susceptible to random files being in memory....or not.

You haven't really explained why sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't without making any changes to the system (as per the logs I posted). So sometimes if finds the 'missing' files and sometimes not.

NEVER fails to work ok (apart from multiple other issues!) in standalone mode - only a problem in ARA2 mode.

Howl
Junior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Howl »

about openGL and spectralayers pro 6 and 7: i have always used directx (i didn't use it with ARA, only for testing, the possibilies, my tracks aren't finished yet, and because all is midi, accept vocals.. o well, bounce, or render in place, etc. it is last step when all sounds right... so will check when the heat is gone, and the new version will arrives).

so i use it mainly in standalone, directx, nvidia 1060gtx, robin, you referred to a thread, i watch it, and i saw a post from myself i was forgotten.

when using openGL, the menu bar, the menu's will not open, untill i hit F11.

nvidia geforce gtx1060 6gb, latest studio drivers (in the mean time, 2 or 3 versions) (and drivers only..).

also on a laptop, with intel HD630, and you can force it to the dedicated graphics card (although on some laptops nowadays, it still uses both, my laptop too); a nvidia gtx 1050 4gb (GP 107).

i post it here, perhaps it is related.

(besides the bugs, i did some nice things already, for sounddesign.)

i have more remarks, i will make them in one posts. questions/or bugs.

i have the problem in standalone mode with openGL; no access to the menu's. only if i hit F11...

EDIT: the heat makes it problematic to use my studio. but my laptop i can use (their is an airco...).

i changed the API setting to openGL, on my laptop, it works, i thought i didn't force spectralayers pro 7 to my dedicated graphics card (and it has a name, some laptops, still use both graphic "cards", but i see that the gtx1050 is used for 25% when scrolling through a spectral form (spectral form), multiple layers, not as fast as with a gtx 1060 by the way... (and 11% of the HD630). openGL forced to dedicated graphics.
but the menu's i can open, it is only on my desktop, that the problem persists, but i must check it again, but i can do it not for the coming days.

difference: gaming drivers on my laptop (why??), studio drivers on my desktop. and the cards.

i don't know if this helps.

on my laptop, with directx or openGL, i can open a project in cubase with spectralayers as an extension already in it, without problems.
didn't check on my desktop.

when i have more information, because i feel there is something of with the openGL implementation (intuition), and have a list of other questions, i shall return.
Cubase Pro 10.5.20. Spectralayers Pro 7.0.20. Wavelab Pro 10.0.40. I7 6700K, 32 Gb, 3 x SSD, 1 x HD, 1060gtx 6gb. Windows 10 Pro 64 (2004). motu ultralite mk3 hybrid. Mackie Control Universal. Behringer BCR 2000 - FCB 1010. Novation Zero SL MKII + SL 49 MKII. Nektar Panorama P1. Maschine MK3 + Jam. Roland MMP-2 pre-amp. rode NT1A. Wacom Bamboo CTH-461. push 2 + ableton live 10 suite. bitwig studio 3.2. reason 11 suite. reaper 6.x. NI komplete 11 ultimate + komplete 13. arturia v collection 7 & FX Bundle & spark 2 (+ CDM controller) & pigments 2. IK multimedia t-racks 5 standard with 40 "processors". softube modular. voltage modular. unfiltered audio, glitchmachines, meldaproduction, waves (gold + 25 or so). etc. etc.

https://soundcloud.com/sada-exposada

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

Howl wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 11:02 am
when i have more information, because i feel there is something of with the openGL implementation (intuition), and have a list of other questions, i shall return.
thanks Howl

FWIW my original post was about a specific major crash that made SL7 unusable (for me) which the beta patch solved although lots of other bug reports coming in - but this openGL issue has been around since SL6 was released.

Like you I have several PCs (and macs) and they show the same issue with SL - there is guarantee that SL will start cleanly. Just restarting SL7 corrects the problem....100% an issue with SL not with drivers/installation.

I stand by my assertion that SL7 wasn't ready to be released and should have been held back until this first patch at the very least. If Robin thinks this is "uncivil" or "aggressive" (as he said) then I really don't know what else to say ! I wouldn't mind, but I'm wasting my time and effort trying to pin down the issue so it can be fixed......

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Robin Lobel »

Hi Simon,
I've built a new installer (see my PM) which logs much more information about this white screen issue you're having randomly.
If you can install and run it until you get that white screen issue, and then send me the last log, that'll certainly help in narrowing down the underlying issue.
Thanks !
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

JesusSheep00a
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by JesusSheep00a »

This seems like Windows only Problem.Has this been tested on Reaper for Windows?

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Robin Lobel »

Indeed, windows only problems. It may also be specific to Cubase.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 10:10 pm
Hi Simon,
I've built a new installer (see my PM) which logs much more information about this white screen issue you're having randomly.
If you can install and run it until you get that white screen issue, and then send me the last log, that'll certainly help in narrowing down the underlying issue.
Thanks !
thanks Robin - I'll give it a try and send you the logs

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

here's the log from a broken cubase project:


08:54:09.436 3ddc INFO C:\Program Files\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7\Win64\SpectraLayers.dll -platform windows:nowmpointer
08:54:09.436 3ddc INFO auto-detected folder: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7\Win64\
08:54:09.441 3ddc INFO early init done
08:54:09.445 3ddc INFO creating app...
08:54:09.454 3ddc INFO loading properties...
08:54:09.782 3ddc INFO session SpectraLayers 2020.08.08-08.54.09.435 started - embedded
08:54:09.782 3ddc INFO SpectraLayers Pro 7.0.10 Build 227 (x64 - Qt 5.15.0 - qtnamespace: SpectraLayers - qtlibinfix: SL - dynamic opengl - MSVC 1916)
08:54:09.782 3ddc INFO OS: Windows 10 Version 2004 (Kernel: 10.0.19041) (en_GB)
08:54:09.782 3ddc INFO CPU: 6 threads (AVX2)
08:54:09.782 3ddc INFO RAM: 64 GB
08:54:09.783 3ddc INFO HDD: 931 GB (437 GB free)
08:54:09.783 3ddc INFO SCR0: 3840x1200x32@59Hz (device pixel ratio: 1) (primary)
08:54:09.783 3ddc INFO SCR1: 1920x1200x32@59Hz (device pixel ratio: 1)
08:54:09.783 3ddc INFO SCR2: 1920x1200x32@59Hz (device pixel ratio: 1)
08:54:10.061 3ddc INFO creating window...
08:54:10.072 3ddc INFO loading plugins...
08:54:10.624 3ddc INFO 30 plugins loaded
08:54:10.624 3ddc INFO initializing UI...
08:54:10.678 3ddc INFO layout and graphic objects initialized
08:54:10.682 3ddc INFO setting shortcuts and properties
08:54:10.803 3ddc INFO UI initialized
08:54:10.805 3ddc INFO Ready
08:54:10.814 3ddc INFO Host: Cubase
08:54:11.185 3ddc INFO Host: Cubase
08:54:11.209 3ddc INFO Host: Cubase
08:54:11.209 3ddc INFO Host: Cubase
08:54:11.210 3ddc INFO Host: Cubase
08:54:11.210 3ddc INFO creating external project SamplingFormat(Real, 44100Hz, Audio, 1 channel(s), mapping: 100)
08:54:11.424 3ddc INFO activating external project SamplingFormat(Real, 44100Hz, Audio, 1 channel(s), mapping: 100)
08:54:23.956 3ddc INFO Show (0x29080c)
08:54:23.956 3ddc INFO dll directory:
08:54:24.123 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.123 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.124 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.124 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.124 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.124 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.124 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.124 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.133 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.133 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.133 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.133 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.133 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.133 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.143 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.144 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.144 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.146 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.146 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.146 3ddc WARNING QOpenGLWidget: Failed to create context
08:54:24.146 3ddc INFO activating external project SamplingFormat(Real, 44100Hz, Audio, 1 channel(s), mapping: 100)
08:54:24.213 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.213 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.213 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: QOpenGLContext creation failed
08:54:24.233 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.233 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.233 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:24.268 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.268 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.268 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:24.295 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:24.295 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:24.295 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.009 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.009 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.009 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.020 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.020 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.020 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.032 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.032 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.032 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.052 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.052 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.052 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.073 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.073 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.073 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.085 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.085 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.085 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:29.094 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:29.094 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:29.094 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:30.309 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:30.309 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:30.309 3ddc WARNING composeAndFlush: makeCurrent() failed
08:54:32.345 3ddc INFO Hide
08:54:32.487 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:32.487 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:32.488 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:32.488 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:32.489 3ddc CRITICAL Failed to load libEGL (The specified module could not be found.)
08:54:32.489 3ddc WARNING SpectraLayers::QWindowsEGLStaticContext::create: Failed to load and resolve libEGL functions
08:54:32.718 3ddc INFO closing external project SamplingFormat(Real, 44100Hz, Audio, 1 channel(s), mapping: 100)

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

As I keep saying - if I load an empty project first and add SL7 - close - and then open the "broken project" then all is well.

in the "working" log I see:

08:56:34.402 3bfc INFO dll directory: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7\Win64\


in the "broken" log I see:

08:54:23.956 3ddc INFO dll directory:


so it seems that if you add SL7 to a FRESH project it sets the dll directory properly but if you open an old project it forgets to do this.....

this explains why it works if you create a dummy project FIRST, before opening an old project. It's already got the correct path. Standalone it always sets the dll path correctly which is why that always works......Should be enough information to fix it there.

also - tried it in Nuendo via ARA - and saw a few of these in the logs: Seemed to work ok though
08:44:59.275 1ec0 WARNING QOpenGLTexturePrivate::destroy() called without a current context.
Texture has not been destroyed
08:44:59.308 1ec0 WARNING QOpenGLTexturePrivate::destroy() called without a current context.
Texture has not been destroyed


(still more bugs to squash)

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Robin Lobel »

Thanks, that was very helpful ! Indeed, I think I now understand what's happening (and why it's pseudo-random) :
I correctly set the dll folder at the very beginning (in your log, that's the second line of the log: 08:54:09.436 3ddc INFO auto-detected folder: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7\Win64\ ), but unfortunately right before SL's UI is shown, Cubase (or any other plugin that's running in Cubase's background) unset this dll folder (as you've noticed, the dll directory is sometime blank, and then you have the white screen issue).

That's the tricky part: setting and unsetting a dll folder is application-wide, that's why it works perfectly well in the stand-alone, but when you're running as a plugin you're also dependent of what happens in the host application and beyond your reach.

I think the solution would simply be to set this dll folder again right before showing the UI, to make sure the path to the DirectX dll are correctly found and initialized before Cubase or other background process steal it from SL again.

I'm building a new installer (build 228) and will send it to you to confirm the issue is gone.
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

perfect - thanks :)

that explains the different behaviour that causes it to break/work. Cubase/nuendo does the directory 'wipe' at a very specific point so loading an existing project doesn't have chance to correct the 'mistake' but loading a new instance allows SL to 'fix' itself.

It's probably by design though as you don't want plugins changing the dll folder for other plugs....(possibly ?)

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Robin Lobel »

Hard to tell but yeah that's basically the idea.

Ok, I just sent you a new build (228) and hopefully this one fixes the issue by setting the dll directory right before the UI is shown.
If you still have the white screen issue please post the new log, otherwise I think we're good :)
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

looks good

old project now logs:

10:10:00.323 09d4 INFO dll directory set to: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\SpectraLayers 7\Win64\


and so loads the GUI correctly - that bug has been around as long as I've been using SL - good work.

Robin Lobel
Moderator
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by Robin Lobel »

Great, thanks for your help in solving this !
Robin Lobel - SpectraLayers creator and lead developer

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: SpectraLayers 7 - problems !! - basically unusable

Post by dr »

Robin Lobel wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:18 am
Great, thanks for your help in solving this !
doesn't always seem like it but we're on the same side - we want working software just as much as you do.....however the accountants have a slightly different agenda.

in the 21st century it's essentially impossible to create bug free software but production software needs to be as stable as possible - as a general rule I'l take stable over new features.....again, accountants have a different opinion :)

I tweaked the thread title to reflect the fixes

Post Reply

Return to “SpectraLayers 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robin Lobel and 2 guests